Four BN lawmakers sworn in as Senators

A-      A+

KUALA LUMPUR – Kuantan MCA division chief Datuk Seri Ti Lian Ker was among four who took their oath of office and were sworn-in as Senators at Dewan Negara yesterday.

The others were Siti Fatimah Yahya, 63, who is also Pahang Umno women committee member; Sabani Mat, 58, former Arau Umno branch treasurer and Kamarudin Abdun, 60, who is Perlis Umno secretary.

They took their oath before Senate president Tan Sri S. A. Vigneswaran, and will hold office for three years.

Ti, when met by reporters after the ceremony, said he would play a role to scrutinise the government in its efforts to improve the nation’s development.

“We are not looking for mistakes made by the government but will work together to fix any mistakes.

“For example, if we see the people do not accept the abolition of the Goods and Services Tax (GST) and claim that the abolition does not reduce the price of goods, it may be necessary to reconsider,” said the graduate of the law.

Sabani said she would be more aware of the issues raised by the people regardless of the party’s background to ensure their welfare was preserved.

“Every decision and action taken must precede the people. Do not waive away the people’s opinions and wants if they can help to advance this country,” he said.

Vigneswaran said Dewan Negara members played an important role in giving
opinions and refining any approved Bill in the Dewan Rakyat to be debated in the Dewan Negara.

“I would like to urge members not to use this noble council as their own political field. Use it as a place that can benefit the
welfare of the people and the country.
I believe the senators will debate the
Bills appropriately,” he said. — Bernama