UM Faculty of Medicine don scores first

A-      A+

KUALA LUMPUR — A senior professor from Universiti Malaya’s (UM) Faculty of Medicine has made the nation proud by receiving a prestigious award in medical physics.

Prof Dr Ng Kwan Hoong is the first scientist from Malaysia to receive the Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award.

He was presented the award by International Organisation for Medical Physics (IOMP) president Slavik Tabakov in Prague in the Czech Republic on June 3, UM said in a statement yesterday.

“The award is to honour scientists who have distinguished themselves by their contributions in the education and training of medical physicists, students and health personnel, as well as the advancement of the profession,” it said.

Dr Ng’s main research contribution is in breast imaging, radiological protection, radiation dosimetry, medical physics education and risk communication.

The award is given triennially in conjunction with the organisation’s world congress, which attracts medical physicists, biomedical engineers and other professionals in related fields from all over the world to interact and share ideas, knowledge, experience and research findings.

Dr Ng’s achievement is something which Asia can be proud because for the past 18 years the recipients of the award have been from the West and developed countries such as United States, France and Canada, UM said.

“His success proves that scientists from developing countries can also contribute significantly to science and humanity,” it added.

The Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award is named after Madame Curie, who pioneered the research on radioactivity and was the only person to have won a Nobel Prize in two different sciences — physics (1903) and chemistry (1911).

Medical physics (biomedical physics) is the application of physics concepts, theories, and methods to medicine or healthcare.