Umno will retain all its seats, says Teng

A-      A+

SEBERANG PERAI — Barisan Nasional is confident Umno will retain all of its 10 state and three parliamentary seats in Penang, Teng Chang Yeow said yesterday.

The Penang BN chairman said the incumbents will remain strong in their seats.

He said BN aimed to win all the 40 state and 13 parliamentary seats it is contesting in the upcoming general election.

Teng said BN is facing the polls with the mentality of winning all the seats, but declined to divulge the number of additional seats it hopes to win this time around.

BN successfully defended its 11 state and three parliamentary seats in the 2008 elections, but lost an additional state seat in 2013.

BN components Gerakan, MCA and MIC have not won any state seats since 2008.

BN will need to win at least 21 state seats for a simple majority to form the state government.

In 2013, DAP won 19 state seats, PKR 10 and PAS one.